State of Nevada Commission on Ethics                    
Commission Members and Staff

The Commission consists of 8 members. Of these, 4 are appointed by the Governor and 4 are appointed by the Legislative Commission.


Commission Members


Cheryl A. Lau, Esq.

 Chair (R)

Appointed by Governor in January, 2013

Appointment expires 2017

Cheryl A. Lau was born in Hawaii.  She received a BA degree from Indiana University; an MA from Smith College; and a Doctorate from the University of Oregon.  Lau was a professor of music before she decided to earn a Juris Doctorate from the University of San Francisco. 

Ms. Lau became a Deputy Attorney General in the 1980s and served until she was elected Nevada’s Secretary of State in 1990.  She ran for Governor in 1994,  served as the General Counsel to the U.S. House of Representatives in Washington D.C., a Teaching Fellow at Harvard University in the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Institute of Politics; and Judge Pro Tempore for the Carson City Justice and Municipal Courts.  She was the 1992 vice chair of the Republican National Platform Committee, secretary of the Republican National Convention in 1992, and chair of the National Commission for the Renewal of American Democracy.  She is married to Garth Dull, former Director of the Nevada Department of Transportation.

Ms. Lau was active in the Nevada Commission for Women and the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), serving as chair or co-chair of several committees and organizing the winter, 1993 NASS annual meeting in Las Vegas. 

Magdalena M. Groover

Member (R)

Initially appointed by Governor on May 3, 2010, reappointed on July 1, 2011 and July 1, 2015

Appointment expires on June 30, 2019

Magdalena Groover was appointed to the Commission in May 2010.  Born in Mexico, she was trained as an attorney and worked for over 14 years in the public sector.  She later moved to Canada where her quick mind and legal skills served a major stock brokerage to maintain regulatory compliance.  Upon moving to Las Vegas in 2002, and up until today, she has worked with a private investigations firm where she applies her expertise to corporate, civil, extradition and immigration matters.  Commissioner Groover has a strong passion for the Ethics in Government Laws, and brings her world view to bear in her consideration of cases before the Commission.

Keith A. Weaver, Esq.

Vice-Chair (D)

Initially appointed by Governor on April 26, 2011, reappointed on October 1, 2011

Appointment expires on September 30, 2015

Commissioner Keith A. Weaver earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the University of Nevada, Reno in 1986 and his Juris Doctor degree from the University Of San Diego School Of Law in 1989.  He has nearly 20 years of experience in insurance and health insurance law, representing healthcare clients, including managed care plans in ERISA, Medicare and Medicaid matters. He appears in administrative proceedings before state and federal licensing and regulatory agencies, as well in complex business litigation and consumer disputes, including bad faith litigation.  He is licensed to practice law in Nevada, California and Oregon.  Commission Weaver’s willingness to undertake complex legal analysis has helped several other Commissioners to work through some tough issues before the Commission.

John Carpenter

Member (R)

Initially appointed by the Legislative Commission on February 15, 2012, reappointed on October 1, 2013

Appointment expires on September 30, 2017

Commissioner John C. Carpenter had a distinguished legislative career in the Nevada Assembly (District No. 33) from 1987 through 2010.  His personal and professional achievements include service with the Nevada Woolgrowers, Elko County Commission, Elko County Hospital Board, Elko County Recreation Board, Elko County Board of Equalization, and the Elko County Convention and Visitors Authority among others.  His thorough understanding of the legislative process, statutory construction and the development of regulations adds greatly to his contribution to the Ethics Commission.  Further, his service on the Assembly Judiciary Committee provided him a solid foundation for his current service as a quasi-judicial officer.


Jim Shaw

 Member (D)

Initially appointed by the Legislative Commission on July 1, 2008, reappointed on June 29, 2012

Appointment expires on June 30, 2016

Commissioner Shaw received his Bachelors of Arts from Catholic University, Washington, D.C.and his Masters in Education from University of Nevada, Reno. He retired after 33 years of service teaching English and History and serving in school administration positions in Washoe County. He was appointed to the City of Sparks Civil Service Commission and served for three years. He was elected to the Sparks City Council and later to the Washoe County Commission where he served three terms.



Dan H. Stewart

 Member (R)

Appointed by the Legislative Commission on October 27, 2015

Appointment expires on October 31, 2019

Bio pending

Barbara Gruenewald, Esq.

 Member (D)

Appointed by the Legislative Commission on October 27, 2015

Appointment expires on October 31, 2019

Bio pending